COOL CHANGE

Flipper

I wanted Flipper to live with me. Even now, I can remember running through pros and cons of how I would go about convincing my folks our bath tub would be more than enough space for him to live in. I was even willing to go all in and throw in the promise of my dolphin buddy not getting any bigger and yes, feeding him every day. Being 5 or 6-years old at the time, it made perfect sense to my boy brain.

This past week or so has seen me once again drawing strength from dolphins. I don’t understand all of it or why images of them haven’t left me alone, but I do take comfort in their playful strength. Beyond that, they are consummate experts when it comes to effortlessly rearranging their routines as they make their way through all kinds of open water.

In a lot of respects I feel like I’ve been swimming in a lot of open water for months now. And that’s OK. Swimming is not the same as adrift. Me, the water, wind and the sky above have always felt like friends.

Tomorrow, I find out if I’m a viable candidate for some pretty amazing surgery – ground-breaking kind of stuff.

Personal anniversaries and bucket loads of overtime at work have left me needing to deeply reset and rearrange some of my routines. Thanks for letting me do that with you.

My wish for us all? Love yourself this week. Give yourself permission to do it. Then, go love somebody else.

On behalf of Ranger Ricks, Sandy, Bud and you-know-who, I hope to see you in good shape 2-weeks from now. Travel well. Go in Peace.

untilthendan

 

 

 

blankspacer_large2

Little River Band – “Cool Change” from their 1979 album, “First Under The Wire.”

blankspacer_large2blankspacer_large2

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

Flipper: http://en.series-tv-shows.com/flipper-1964/; Smiling Dolphin: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2329463/The-happy-animals-help-smiling-Heart-warming-pictures-creatures-just-dont-life-seriously.html

 

Smiling Dolphin

 

##

 

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 33 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged for years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Hope, Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to COOL CHANGE

  1. purplemary54 says:

    Good luck on the evaluation. Ground-breaking could be very good, and I hope you break lots of it.

    • dan4kent says:

      Thank you my dear PM. Thank you for letting me share the burden though most of it seems to often be in the ‘unknown’ column…Keep on keeping on and I’ll do the same from here.
      Until then,
      Dan

  2. I wish you the best on your surgery. Sometimes it feels like swimming against the current but that’s ok. Eventually you will find the shoreline and all is good. Like you said, it’s not like being adrift.

What do you think? Let me know.