FORT FIREWOOD

Flag Collage

Aptly named, the home fires are burning here at Fort Firewood. It’s been awhile so I felt it good to update you on my journey towards taking my professions’ version of National Boards.

You don’t just show up one day and take the test. You ask, you apply to be seated and the available spot? They go quickly. I knew that. Long story short, I test in early June-ish, not May. ARRRGGGH.

More time to study? True. But the flip-side is there is only so much of me to go around. I’ve had to make choices about my time and how I spend each day. I haven’t been writing. Haven’t returned a lot of phone calls while friends wonder if maybe I’ve entered the witness protection program. And god bless him, Rick has been patiently waiting for me to return to normal.

Me? Normal? I don’t know how to break it to him but he may be waiting a long time before that happens. But you get my point. I’m spending all my firewood towards a singular purpose. ‘All in’ with very little left for anything else.

On this Memorial Day weekend, I’m grateful to have 3 full study days. But here’s the thing, ‘Me’ pursuing my dream wouldn’t be happening if everyone who’s ever served this Nation before me hadn’t first done their full measure…up to and including dying in nameless places from Boston to a patch of Afghani sand. This amazing experiment we call Democracy has not come cheaply. It’s taken a lot of firewood. And on this weekend in particular, we honor them…all of them and their families.

I’m not done yet and neither is this nation. Many have passed from us since I last posted. Great minds like Zbigniew Brzezinski [http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/other/%e2%80%98morning-joe%e2%80%99-host-mika-brzezinski-pays-tribute-to-late-father/ar-BBBzVH5] to great players like Gregg Allman [https://www.jambase.com/article/allman-brothers-band-keyboardist-gregg-allman-died-1947-2017] – all of them filling out their unique version of what it means to be a patriot.

Music has been a huge piece of the fabric of this Nation. Many songs have been sung since that first hot summer day in Philadelphia through to the cotton fields of the South and the streets of Chicago. Every war has had its own. Every generation, their own sound. I toyed with sharing some of my favorites with you here, but there are bigger fish to fry than indulge my own selfish favorites.

Instead, I leave you with a different kind of patriotic offering…I’m not done chasing my goal. I contend that as Citizens, we should never be content to let others define what this Nation has always stood for. The work never ends. We will always need more firewood. There will be more sacrifice and yes, more will die. But as long as that means something to all of us, it’s worth it. Whatever way you do it, do you (and your part) in keeping the home fires burning this weekend.

Can’t wait to put out my flag tomorrow. So “…from border to border and coast to coast and all the ships at sea”, let’s do this. So much still to be done. So many in need of our love and attention. That said, this is your humble blogger, signing off.

Until Then Dan

 

 

 

blankspacer_large2

WE DIDN’T START THE FIRE (BILLY JOEL)

blankspacer_large2

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

US Flags – TBerrigan/Getty Images © : as seen on MSN’s Home Page today, 052817; Boys Salute: http://a.abcnews.com/images/US/AP_memorial_day_01_as_160530_4x3_992.jpg

blankspacer_large2

Boys Salute

spacer

– ## –

 

 

 

 

 

 

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Life, Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FORT FIREWOOD

  1. Good to have you back and good luck on your exams.

What do you think? Let me know.

