ALL NIGHT LONG

irrelevance-by-eric-erlenbusch

It’s early on Saturday morning. Even though I hadn’t set my alarm clock, there I was, awake at the regular time.

Not really feeling led to roll over and go back to sleep, I read my wakefulness as a sign to get up and get some writing done before sunrise. Was I meant to? Or was it just the utility of knowing everything that needs to get done today? More on that later.

Steve and Susanne will be here for dinner tonight. I’m looking forward to relaxing around a good meal and getting to know them better. But between now and then, there’s work to do. Having rested all night long, I’m ready.

sound-machineNot ready is my fabled sound machine. Having developed a real attitude problem, she has been refusing my repeated instructions to play all night long. One pass on the CD of Irish Seacoast (thank you Cousin Barb) and that’s it. When I wake up? No waves, just silence.

I may not have ever worked at a Radio Shack, but I am not without technical ability. I’ve studied the recalcitrant sleep aids’ control panel and yes, there are one or two indicator lights showing differently, but I’m flummoxed in trying to get previous functionality restored. My plinking of the various buttons and switches has done nothing to restore the continuous play feature. Having reached a point-of-diminishing returns, I’ve defaulted to living with it. In my best effort to be one with the Force, I’ve been trying to convince myself I should just let it be what it is, content with what it gives me.

Easier said than done, having the same zen sense of acceptance of winter in Chicago has been similarly elusive.

chicago-winter-windEarlier this week, I met a dawn filled with ice and freezing rain, each riding on the shoulders of a rushing mighty wind. During the drive in to work, I did my best to steer clear of the semi-trucks and their trailers, each swaying from side-to-side by a good 10 or 15 inches. Yikes!

But the day wasn’t done with us. Calling home at lunchtime, I learned we’d lost power at the house. Power was restored a few hours later and Rick stepped up to the nagging tasks of going around resetting the clocks.

Day done and once again reunited, it was good to fall asleep to the sounds of my waves crashing on the beach.

The next morning, I awoke…to the sounds of my waves crashing on the beach. Uh?

Seems that in the power grids’ reset, something must have flipped in Murta’s machine. Continuous Play had been restored and I’d had nothing to do with it. In those moments, I’ve learned to simply smile, nod my head and say “thank-you”.

But not everything works out like a power outage.

abraham-lincolnOn Tuesday, I had a call-back to a job I’d applied for. This was big and I was going to be ready. Like Lincoln said, “Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.”

To read the description, the gig was everything I’d been looking for. It answered my every reason for having gone back to school last year. Following our 16th President’s wisdom, I did my research; what the firm did and who their players were. My cover letter and the resume were tailored and specifically directed to the person who’d do the hire.

I knew their market position. I had read up on what others had said about working there. I knew what they needed. I knew I was the guy who could deliver on their wish-list and in the process, renew my own sense of fulfillment I’ve been missing from what I do to earn my check and keep the lights on. Sitting in the car, my papers were laid out in easy reach like a surgeon arrays their instruments. The clock ticked as I said a silent prayer and waited for the phone to ring at 2:30.

Ring. “Hello, Dan.”

The whole call was over in less than ten-minutes.

My experience was true and my certification credentials were valuable, but to hear the potential employer tell it, I’d gained both in the wrong order. I didn’t fit their idea of what the perfect candidate looked like. The drop in my Spirit was palpable. Doubts nagged at me anew. “What am I doing wrong?”

But then it hit me. Like everything else this week, I surrendered to the peace of knowing all things do work out for a reason. I heard the Cosmos whisper, “How bad do you want it? Do you live it? Do you love it? What have you learned? Show me.”

So I mourned (a little), took some time to embrace the disappointment and then, dusted myself off, got up and got on with what still needs to be done.

martin-luther-king

The same could be said of Dr. King. Like me, he had days like mine. On this, the weekend we as a Nation, have set aside in his memory, we forget the gritty work we’ve already done in facing the work still undone across a horizon filled with all manner of issues and obstacles. Like my life, democracy can be as messy as it is sometimes glorious. But hey, if this were easy, anyone could do it, right? So fine, if I have to work all night long, I’ll do it.

Tonight, I will enjoy the efforts of my in-house Culinare and his signature meatloaf (w/bacon); creamy mashed potatoes, broccoli, biscuits and red velvet cake (thank you to the Waldorf-Astoria and their vintage recipe) – all home-made from scratch. Adding some wine to the equation, it promises to be a good meal shared with new friends.

Mark it down Pilgrims. Annie was right. Without fail, Love continues to warrant each of us that no matter how long our nights may seem, the Sun will in fact, come out tomorrow.

Not knowing how any of this greets you, I wish you well in the work you have to do this week.

See you in the morning.

untilthendan

 

blankspacer_large2

wayback-machine-radio

“Sherman, set the Wayback Machine to 1973…”

These many years later, the message rings true. Enjoy a blast from the past that lands squarely in the middle of what I believe needs to be part of our collective consciousness. Harmonies, as good as they are don’t rest in the lyric as much as they live in the performance.

Dan

 

blankspacer_large2

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

Opening Pic: Irrelevance by Eric Erlenbusch – a perennial favorite of mine, Eric’s eye is the gift that keeps giving. Good morning Eric. Thank you – again. SOURCE: https://ericephoto.wordpress.com/2016/09/17/irrelevance-locations-landscape-photography/; Sound Machine: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41WPmFJC64L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Murta’s gift of a sound machine has been dear to me {SEE: 2014/06/29 “Murta Potter Metes Her Measures” for more on that miracle}. https://dan4kent.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/murta-potter-metes-her-measures/.

Chicago Winter Wind: From John Chuckman, a fine WordPress blogger I am now following: https://chuckmanchicagonostalgia.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/photo-chicago-unknown-location-downtown-people-using-temporary-handrail-against-heavy-winter-winds-1978/photo-chicago-unknown-location-downtown-people-using-temporary-handrail-against-heavy-winds-1978/; Lincoln quote and pic: http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/preparation; Martin Luther King: Photographer is unknown to me – SOURCE: http://paxonbothhouses.blogspot.com/2013/08/my-favorite-martin-luther-king-jr-quote.html; PIC: Wayback Machine – Source: 8 Things You Should Know About Mr. Peabody and Sherman – http://www.answers.com/article/1175447/8-things-you-should-know-about-mr-peabody-and-sherman; The WABAC Machine or Wayback Machine is a fictional time machine from the segment “Peabody’s Improbable History”, a recurring feature of the 1960s cartoon series The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show.[1][2] The WABAC Machine is a plot device used to transport the characters Mr. Peabody and Sherman back in time to visit important events in human history. [Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WABAC_machine]; “We may never pass this way again” is from Diamond Girl, the fifth studio album by pop/folk duo Seals and Crofts. It was released in 1973 on Warner Bros. Records. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diamond_Girl_%28album%29; “All Night Long” by Artist Jack Wells. A bold Giclée print with a hand pulled black enamel spot varnish over the top to create a subtle two tone bevel. The enamel spot varnish is a nod to the original art work that was reverse painted on glass using sign-writing enamels. Printed on 315gsm smooth cotton paper with a deckled edge. All prints are hand signed and numbered by the artist. https://artobox.com/art/limited-edition-prints/all-night-long/

blankspacer_large2

all-night-long

blankspacer_large2

– ## –

 

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogs because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Hope, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ALL NIGHT LONG

  1. ntexas99 says:

    Sorry to hear that your delightful dinner won’t be a celebratory event (at least, as far as landing that particular job goes), but clearly the Universe has something else in mind for you. Thanks for sharing the music … haven’t heard that one in ages. Seemed like the perfect punctuation for what you shared today. I do hope you have/had a lovely evening, and I’m a tiny bit jealous about made-from-scratch red velvet cake. Sounds yummy. 🙂

    • dan4kent says:

      So cool to see you at “my door”. Glad the post AND the tunes made sense for you there. And yes…it was an amazing end to the meal.
      Much blessing back your way.
      Dan

  2. purplemary54 says:

    I’ve been trying so hard to keep my head above water these last few weeks that a lot of my online connections have fallen by the wayside. I’ve still got a lot of older posts to catch up on, but I’m glad I read this one now. Thanks, Dan.

  3. I’m sorry the job opportunity didn’t work out. As you say, it was to be. When disappointed I allow myself 24 hours of self-pity and then get on with it. I love that short wallowing to get rid of it all. Good luck to you and the meal sounds fabulous!

What do you think? Let me know.

