RING DEEP

Blogging? Is it a mistress? Perhaps. Why else would I spend hours apart from Rick in order to go climbing through a thought refusing to let go of my imagination, grabbing my soul and gripping my pen?

Five years ago (yesterday) and of not much consequence to anyone else, I took a step. I was told if I starting writing, I would find out things on the way to me. I remember looking at my finger, hovering, hesitating to hit the PUBLISH button on OPEN, my very first post in what was supposed to be an experiment. As clumsy as I knew I was, now I smile (kindly) recalling the trembling fear I might break the Internet if I did something wrong.

There’s a television commercial which proposes the idea of anything you’re good at was first something at which you weren’t. Unexpected Truth from an unexpected source.

This weekend, we’re binge watching Viking (on History Channel). My freak Viking flag is flying. With a few episodes still to go, I’ve been struck how the acrimony, violence and even a simple lack of civility all around us in the present day isn’t anything new.

Neither is Love. It has not lost one step to Darkness. I am stunned when I show courage I didn’t know I had when everything in my past tells me I should be afraid. What is this magic?

I can’t see it. I can’t smell or touch it, but when I’m in synch with it; when I am in the presence of it, I know it to be true and potent.

While I was posed to mount some kind of epic literary masterpiece to commemorate my 5th Anniversary with you, I ran across the following bit of video. I share it with you here. It rings true. That’s the funny thing about Love. It just does. Nothing would please me more than for you to find similar Truth where you are, for reasons that are yours. Watch and learn. Be excellent to each other.

untilthendan

 

blankspacer_large2

 

blankspacer_large2

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

Viking Love Rune: https://img0.etsystatic.com/000/0/6000489/il_570xN.258209126.jpg

OPEN

OPEN

If you have a mind to, jump to Post #1 at: https://dan4kent.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/open/blankspacer_large2

 

Viking Rune for Love

– ## –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Life, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RING DEEP

  1. purplemary54 says:

    Happy Blogiversary! The video made me cry, but you always bring out some emotion or another in me. Thanks for all the epiphanies and inspiration, even though I’ve been a bit neglectful lately. I’ve got all the back posts saved to read, and I will eventually now that my life is settling down a bit.

    • dan4kent says:

      My dear PM! Thank you. My ears must have been burning because I just pull up the post and there you were. As ever, you deliver. Glad to hear Life is settling a bit…trust it’s in your favor. Take care of the West Coast for us while I try to do my best here in Chicagoland.
      As ever, travel well.
      Dan

  2. Congratulations on 5 years of sharing. It’s been a wonderful ride for your readers.

  3. ntexas99 says:

    The video was an inspiration to watch. In these dark days of mudslinging and biting and scratching and hostility being observed in so many different directions, it is truly a breath of fresh air to see something that restores our faith in the human race. The basic concept of human kindness, especially between strangers. Thanks for sharing the video.

    Always good to see your name pop up in my notifications. Thanks for taking the time to put a little bit of positive energy out there in the world. We are all sorely in need of it, and appreciate your willingness to find the time to help us smile. Hope you are still holding that smile in your heart as well. Your generosity of heart is contagious. 🙂

What do you think? Let me know.

