CHAUNCY AND THE DOUGHNUTS

Chauncey Black Matt and Kroger

Sorry I’m running late. Was in class all week. Studying each night. I was up till after 4AM on Saturday morning. Sat for the exam later that morning (8AM). I thought about putting my picture up on the fridge so Rick would remember what I look like. But he’s been a trooper keeping everything else on track while I stay singularly focused on just one and that’s school. I’m a lucky dog.

Then, just as I was beginning to return to the Land of the Living, tonight was Big Brother and Game of Thrones (yeah, I’m a fan).

But still nothing for my mistress, the blog.

It’s not like there isn’t a lot to talk about with hunger, police on trial, gang bangers shooting up the near west side of this city….Pride parades this weekend, sit-ins and Brexit.

And then I caught this story.

This is what Life is really all about. I dare you not to think you might just be a lucky dog too. We both got to know Matt and Chauncy.  Loaves and fishes are so yesterday.  I like the doughnuts.

untilthendan

 

 

 

Matt White

Matt White

June 9 at 10:35pm · Memphis, TN, United States

I just met the most inspiring person ever. His name is Chauncy Jones. He’s a 16 year old from Memphis. He had taken the bus at 9:00 at night to get to the “rich people’s Kroger” on Highland as he called it. He approached me while I was shopping for produce asking if he could help me carry my grocery bags to my car in exchange for buying him a pack of glazed donuts. This kid looked like he had been turned down 100 times. He looked ashamed, hungry and broken. In my heart I screamed a loud “yes!”, but to him I just chuckled and said, “yeah dude, we’ll get you some donuts”. I asked him if he was by himself and he said that he had come all the way out here with the hopes of someone buying him something to eat because he and his mother had nothing at home. He had no phone, a bus pass, and he was depending on the graces of a stranger to feed him within the hour before the bus left. So, needless to say, he and I went on a shopping spree…”

Random Acts of Kindness don’t need training wheels so I’ll let you finish the story for yourself…I will say at the time I’m going to print, the page for Chauncy has raised $267,650! 

Here are some helpful links:

https://www.facebook.com/matt.white.77964201/posts/10102099373675510

https://www.gofundme.com/293uu9x3#?utm_source=Instagram&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=293uu9x3#

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/memphis-teen-asks-to-carry-groceries-for-food_us_576d42c1e4b017b379f5a80b

blankspacer_large2

Announcing the Stonewall National Monument

I’m designating the Stonewall National Monument as the newest addition to America’s National Park System. Stonewall will be our first national monument to tell the story of the struggle for LGBT rights. I believe our national parks should reflect the full story of our country, the richness and diversity and uniquely American spirit that has always defined us. That we are stronger together. That out of many, we are one.”

– President Obama

blankspacer_large2

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

blankspacer_large2

Chauncey's Chance

blankspacer_large2

### –

 

 

 

 

 

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in LGBT, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CHAUNCY AND THE DOUGHNUTS

What do you think? Let me know.

