INSIDE MOVES

Moving Guys

Remember the you that was you, back when you, were you?

In the beginning, Rick and I were young.  We must have moved nine or ten times in our first ten or twelve years together.  Chicago is a city of wildly different neighborhoods and we enjoyed every one of them.  But as is so often the case, the glories of youth and the adventure of it all have since yielded to us looking at each other several times and these many years later, making a blood brother vow that “Next time, we hire movers”.

With the last move now behind us by a few weeks, we made good on our Huck Finn promise.  But even so, moving is so much more than the day the three guys and a truck show up at your door.

Finding a place is a big deal. Finding places for your stuff inside the place you found takes a while.  Dresser goes there, book shelves go where?  Chairs right here or maybe over there? Moving in is a nightmare bear.  With everything now just such and so, where does this thing go?

And then it all begins again, finding places inside the places you’ve brought in to the new place you’ve found.  Cupboards and drawers get filled with glasses and plates.  The one by the stove?  That’s the one for the pliers and tape.  Lamps on the end and where do we put the TV?  Reconnecting the cable and we’ve still got to get to DMV.

Walls may be a canvas, but at first they’re just blanks. Lots of pictures, photos and canvas to hang, but can we be frank?  Laying out what goes up where with your Other? It’s a little bit like walking a plank.  “Nope, I don’t like it.  Try over there”.  It gets tiresome real quick. I just want to get it done and still try to be fair.

Moving Boxes

And let’s talk about boxes.  No matter how many get emptied, there seem to always be eleven more.  In that respect, moving is an exercise in reverse engineering.  It shows you how much stuff you have.  After the move, it also shows you something else when you look at what you’ve unpacked, and what you haven’t.  Sure, some of the last eleven have been opened and even rooted through, but what’s inside them is still pretty much there.

Some of the boxes I know hold good stuff, but there always seems to something else that requires tending to first.  But what’s in the box isn’t nearly as obnoxious to me as it is me being the one who purposely left it in a place to insure I’ll trip over it at least three or four times a day.  My ‘leave it out’ tactic is designed to protect myself from yielding to the temptation of stashing the box in a closet until it’s time to move again.  It’s my way of upping the ante to insure I’ll deal with that which I know remains undone.

All of which brings me to this.  In the midst of our self-absorption in getting moved inside, this is the one-year anniversary of Michael Brown dying in Ferguson, MO.  Last night, Matt Burns won the U.S. Air Guitar championship and now travels to Finland to represent the stars and stripes on the world stage.  Ten years ago this week, Peter Jennings succumbed to his fight with cancer. For never having met him, I still miss his calm delivery and the thoughtful sense of responsibility he brought to his craft. I wonder what he would say about watching ‘the Donald’ become an adjective while we clamor for reason when it comes to the police, race relations, woman’s rights, obstacles still standing in the fight for GLBT equality, immigration, voting rights, literacy and making sure that every little kid in America has something to eat every day and a place to sleep every night.  So many boxes and well into more than two-hundred years of our history as a nation, we still have so much to move before we get to the more perfect Union promised us all.  We, the People.  If we don’t do the heavy lifting that’s needed to keep this country moving, who will?

Child Hunger

Lots of pieces…all of them moving inside us.  If I may, let me suggest you take a minute to look around and take stock in how and where you’re living on the inside.  Is there a box in your life you keeping tripping over?  Is there that one thing that has remained unpacked for just too long?  Maybe you need it more than ever.  Maybe you need to throw it away, once and for all.  So indulge me and do all of us a favor.  Take a moment somewhere in your week to remember the real you…the you that you were when you were your best you.  That’s the you we all depend on.  If that ‘you’ takes a box and my ‘you’ takes a box, we’ll all be in a better place before we know it.

See you out there this week.  Walk smartly.  Check the boxes.  No tripping.

UntilThenDan

 

BlankSpacer_large

SOURCES

Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission.

Visit Eric at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

BlankSpacer_large

Moving Guys: http://blogs.missouristate.edu/reslife/files/2012/08/9Bear-Crew-Members; Moving Boxes: http://www.rentthebox.com/; Child Hunger: http://thinkprogress.org/economy/2013/08/27/2535211/child-hunger-common-quarters-teachers-report-hungry-students/; Inside Moves: http://www.wikihow.com/Execute-One-on-One-Basketball-Moves

BlankSpacer_large

Inside Moves

BlankSpacer_large

–  ##  –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Life, Life Lessons, Love, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to INSIDE MOVES

  1. purplemary54 says:

    Ah, memories of moving. My last box unpacking experience was when my mom moved in a couple years ago, and I did the unpacking. Combining two households led to a lot of pick ups by the Salvation Army. I’ve left a lot of my metaphorical boxes alone, and I’ll admit there’s quite a few collecting dust in the back room of my mind that I probably ought to toss. Maybe someday soon. Or maybe I’ll go on pretending they don’t exist.

    You’re a Peter Jennings fan, too? I should’ve known. There was something so calming about him that even when things were at their worst, you felt like it was going to be okay. Thanks for mentioning him. I miss him, too.

    • dan4kent says:

      My dear PM. So jazzed my last effort resonated. I’ve gone through the valley of the shadow of blending households – twice. So picking up what you were laying down. On a closer front, I’m encouraged you know you have ‘boxes’ AND where they are. You’ll know when it’s time. And yes, I’m a Peter Jennings fan. I channel him when I’ve got tough news to deliver…even now. He was the definition of class and grace.
      The train is about to enter the tunnels so I’ll sign off. Keep doing what you do online. I’m a fan. Travel well.
      Yours from Chicago.
      Until then.
      Dan

What do you think? Let me know.

