SINCE THEN TILL NOW NEXT TIME

Mind Time

  

Time for a riddle.  ‘How far do you think a dog can run into the woods?’

If my first name were Fritz and my last was Swiss Family Robinson, Time would have everything to do with notching another mark in the tree limb with each new sunrise.  Time since…

Far from a desert island and three weeks out from the end of 6th grade, I was notching my own version of Time every day I came home from school.  Walking up to the calendar hanging next to the refrigerator in our kitchen, my purpose was tracking how many days were left until summer vacation began.  Each day accomplished, my goal grew closer.  Time till…

George Jetson notwithstanding, what about Einstein, the speed of light and astrophysics?  All of that had to do with how long, how fast and how far.  Time traveled…

But therein lies the rub.  Coming or going, Time is as impartial and unconcerned with passage as she is unconcerned with direction or outcome.  There is simply neither the need nor requirement for her to have an opinion.  Like the Grand Canyon, lapsed, since or till, she is the river running through us.  She just is.

So how far can the dog run into the woods? Answer: ‘Half way. Because after that, he is running out of them’.

OK, I acknowledge your groan at my word game, but in thinking about it this week, I’d say each of us have been running out of a lot of bad things since they happened.

National Memorial 168 Chairs in Oklahoma City

20-years ago today we were confronted with hatred in the form of a truck bomb in front of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City.  168 lives were taken that day and more than another 680 others were injured.  For what?  Thousands more have been impacted by their absence since.  Empty chairs around our tables.

Death in the Gulf

Five years ago today signaled the first day of oil being pumped into the Gulf of Mexico compliments of our good friends at BP taking some short-cuts.  The gift of raw oil gushing lasted for another 86-days. Many contend the ‘gift’ is still giving today.  So what have we learned that has impacted our behavior other than me still refusing to buy gas at BP?

Boston Marathon bomb explodes, April 2013 (Courtesy Boston.com)

Races are dominated with Time.  But two years ago, Time ran out for the spectators lining Boston streets when the Tsarnaev brothers left their knap-sacked pressure cookers to wreak carnage on all assembled there that day.  Now, as a society, we are confronted with whether we execute the surviving brother or remand him to a life sentence in prison without the possibility of parole.  Do we find solace in eye-for-an-eye or do some crimes demand we end the offenders Time here on Earth?  Are we any different than the bombers or are we the same.  Time will tell.

Who of us aren’t familiar with time being measured with an hour glass?  Eggs wouldn’t be the same without one.  And if Time can be contained in a glass, are the previous examples ‘half-empty’ or ‘half-full’?

hour_glass_by_sagim

Opting for a personal perspective of ‘half-full’, it was 4-weeks ago, I laid on an operating table and had a sizable alien removed from and along with a good portion of my gut.  Though the tumor was benign (applause, applause), my intestines are only now just returning to a semblance of normal as the multiple wounds in my stomach continue to mend.  No sit-ups for a while and stairs still tweak me.  Uncle Lee has passed over, but I can attest that through it all – good and bad – Time does heal.

Happy 30th AnniversaryThis past week, Rick and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary as a couple.  Though if measured in dog-years, there were moments when it felt like 210-years.  But to me and by so many other measures, it’s really only felt like a week and half ago since I first laid eyes on the Love of my Life.  I might just be the luckiest guy on the Planet.  Time flies.

I don’t think it’s unusual to want more time for the good stuff, but as a humble blogger, I don’t have that kind of power.  I wish I had more time to just write, but if I did, what trade-offs do I make for what I might be doing (or being) instead?  And before I go, there’s the whole idea of saving Time?  It’s a myth.  No matter how efficient I am, neither you nor I can do anything other than spend each moment once.

Having lost the lease on my crystal ball, I can’t see into tomorrow morning much less any time further in the Future.  Without Harry Potters magic wand, I can’t change what has already happened.  What I am grateful for is the presence of mind to make the most of this very moment.  Why it took so long for me to learn such a simple elemental Truth, I cannot say.  But all that I’ve learned in the journey that has brought me to ‘now’ has taught me I am graced with the freedom of choice as to how and with whom I’m going to spend the next moment.  Same goes for you too.  It’s Time.

UntilThenDan

BlankSpacer_large

A Curious Mind by Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman

A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life

by Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman

“At a time when it seems that everyone is writing a book and the market is saturated with experts on this and that — you realize quickly that what makes a good book is if it entertains you, keeps you interested and engaged and possibly even imparts some useful knowledge or sparks some deep thought. However, you’ve found a great book if that book changes you in some way — if it challenges you to see the world differently and to behave and interact differently, to value people, conversations and your place on the planet differently. A Curious Mind did just that for me.  Great book!”

SOURCE: Readers Review by DaphneStreet on http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-curious-mind-brian-grazer/1120649172?ean=9781476730790

 

BlankSpacer_large

SOURCES

Mind Time: http://www.blogging4jobs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/saving-time-life.jpg; National Memorial 168 Chairs in Oklahoma City: http://forum.purseblog.com/true-crime-stories/15th-anniversary-of-the-oklahoma-city-bombing-580266.html; Statistics and Background: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oklahoma_City_bombing; Death in the Gulf: http://www.marketoracle.co.uk/Article21717.html Statistics and Background: http://www.marketoracle.co.uk/Article21717.html and  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deepwater_Horizon_oil_spill; Boston Marathon bomb explodes, April 2013 (Courtesy Boston.com): Teeksa Photography—Skip Schiel: https://skipschiel.wordpress.com/tag/boston-bombing/; Statistics and Background: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_Marathon_bombings; hour_glass_by_sagim.png: https://www.pinterest.com/Minkmoon/hour-glass/ pinned from  www.matgilbert.files.wordpress.com; Happy 30th Anniversary: http://www.goodenoughmother.com/2014/07/our-story-begins-case-companionship/;Time Traveling Phone Booth: http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/crux/2014/01/16/time-travel-via-wormhole-breaks-the-rules-of-quantum-mechanics/#.VTQSaCFVhBc (Initial Image courtesy Graeme Dawes / Ilias Strachinis / Shutterstock)

BlankSpacer_large

Time Traveling Phone Booth by Graeme Dawes - Ilias Strachinis - Shutterstock

BlankSpacer_large

— ##

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogs because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Hope, LGBT, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SINCE THEN TILL NOW NEXT TIME

  1. purplemary54 says:

    Ah time! That wibbley wobbly timey wimey ball of stuff. (Your picture of the TARDIS reminded me of that. Speaking of, shouldn’t the new season of Doctor Who be starting soon?) I contemplate time quite a bit. Mostly because I seem to use up a lot of it doing a lot of nothing. I don’t really see it as a waste of time, because any time spent doing something that makes you happy can’t be a waste. I’m trying to learn to live in the moment more, to appreciate the here and now as much as I can. It’s a battle against my tendency to drift away into my thoughts, but I’m working on it. Thanks for the reminder.

    • dan4kent says:

      Always a pleasure to be of some use (ha!). I had an architect who once told me that every hour he spent/wasted thinking about a project in concept or detail saved 500 labor hours on site. Not such a waste, eh? Travel well. The planet is brighter for having you on-board.
      Dan

  2. ntexas99 says:

    Very pleased to hear you are on the mend, and the alien was benign. Time, when healing, can seem to crawl, but all too soon the clock will begin spinning at too rapid a pace again. 🙂

What do you think? Let me know.

