WATER WAITING

magnolia-swamp-panoramic-2-mike-nellums

black swamp infrared_3 SRC-crop

Water.

I am still.

The cool unbroken surface touching up under my chin.

The Night is quiet, mourning the noise of the Day.

Hovering above, my motionless form hidden floats below.

But for the blink of reptilian eyes, the body is still.

Ghosts of the before drift foggishly past my stoic stare.

Silently I calculate the course that brings me back to this sacred place.

Passion is spent.

Melancholy rising.

Agony aches in the wounds of battles fought again and again, still not won.

What remains undone that would break the mirror surface of the coolness taking hold in my chest?

Come to me in the Night.

Whisper the key my Soul yearns for.

I am in need of being undone.

What is it that this way comes?

Pray be faithful lest what rises be the tide, not this sun.

Water.

I Am. Still.

UntilThenDan

BlankSpacer_large

radio d4k inverse

ROBERTA-FLACK-Killing-Me-Softly-Atlantic-crop

BlankSpacer_large

Florida-Prairie-Sunrise

FernFive

 PASSAGES

Charles Foley

 Charles “Chuck” Foley

(September 6, 1930 – July 1, 2013)

“Co-inventor of the game Twister, Foley was born in Lafayette, Indiana and before he was 10 years old made his first invention, a locking system for the cattle pen at his grandfather’s farm. He attended school through the eighth grade and as a young man he worked as a salesman. He served in the Michigan Air National Guard and worked on the assembly line at the Ford Motor Company before taking a job at Lakeside Toys in Minneapolis. He moved his family to Minnesota in 1962. Foley invented dozens of other toys and games. He had 97 patented inventions. In 1995, Charles Foley’s son Mark Foley and Douglas Farley founded Doumar Products Inc. and its heptane-based Un-Du adhesive remover.

His granddaughter, Meagan Foley, represented Texas in the 2007 Rose of Tralee festival in Ireland.  Foley had lived in North Carolina for years, but his son said he returned to Minnesota in 2005 when he began to have health problems and to be closer to his family. Foley’s wife, Kathleen, died of breast cancer in 1975.

Foley died July 1, 2013 at the Golden Living Center in St. Louis Park, Minnesota. He had been suffering from Alzheimer’s disease. He was 82 and is survived by six sons and three daughters and grandchildren, as well as two brothers and two sisters.”

Source: http://d3trabu2dfbdfb.cloudfront.net/2/2/2266493_300x300_2.jpeg and

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Foley_(inventor

Single Fern

seeger-600-1373548239

Toshi-Aline Ohta Seeger

91

Toshi-Aline Ohta Seeger, the wife of folk music legend Pete Seeger, has died at the age of 91, reports Billboard. Ohta Seeger was an activist and organizer and has long been credited as a foundational figure in her husband’s success.

“Without Toshi’s counsel and support, and always outspoken and direct opinions, it’s clear to anyone who ever met these two remarkable people that, without Toshi, Pete would never have had the foundation and freedom to do the work that made him so legendary,” said Sing Out, a magazine she and Seeger helped cofound in 1950.

She was born in Munich to an American mother and Japanese father, and the family relocated to the U.S. before her first birthday. She grew up in New York, where she met Seeger, and the couple married in 1943 when she was 21.

Ohta Seeger was a woman of influence who played a key programming role for the Great Hudson River Revival. She was aware of talented artists “long before they were on most people’s radar, even before most of the members of the Festival planning committee had heard of, say, Tracy Chapman,” said Persimmon Tree’s Sue Leonard.

She was also involved in film. Her 1966 film “Afro-American Work Songs in a Texas Prison” is based on prisoners chopping trees and singing their traditional songs; it is in the Library of Congress archives.

Ohta Seeger died on July 9th, nine days short of what would have been hers and Seeger’s 70th wedding anniversary.

Sources: By Erin Coulehan (Rolling Stone) July 11, 2013 9:20 AM ET: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/toshi-seeger-wife-of-pete-seeger-dead-at-91-20130711#ixzz2YzcNLFIF; Toshi Seeger and Pete Seeger Photo by Bennett Raglin/WireImage

Single Fern

Trayvon Martin's Parents

Trayvon Martin’s Parents

 

Trayvon Martin

Trayvon Martin

Source: trayvon martins parents: http://www.judiciaryreport.com/images_2/trayvon-martin-parents-3-29-12-1.jpg and Trayvon Martin: http://www.qcitymetro.com/news/articles/john_p_kee_posts_facebook_tribute_to_trayvon_martin090416240.cfm

FernFive

BlankSpacer_large

PHOTO CREDITS and ATTRIBUTIONS: Banner Coastal Redwood Forest by Eric E Photography is used with permission. Visit Eric and see his other work at: http://www.ericephoto.com or http://ericephoto.wordpress.com/

magnolia-swamp-panoramic-2-mike-nellums: http://fineartamerica.com/featured/magnolia-swamp-panoramic-2-mike-nellums.html ; black swamp infrared_3 cropped: http://ineluctable.org/ieatfood/foul_mudammas/big/black%20swamp%20infrared_3.jpg ; Florida-Prairie-Sunrise: http://floridaphotomatt.com/2012/09/25/corkscrew-swamp-sanctuary/ A WordPress Blogger.; Roberta Flack: http://singersroom.com/content/2011-09-28/Killing-Me-Softly-Singer-Roberta-Flack-Returns-For-Beatles-Inspired-Album/; evening-alligator-florida_50504_600x450: http://images.nationalgeographic.com/wpf/media-live/photos/000/505/cache/evening-alligator-florida_50504_600x450.jpg

BlankSpacer_large

evening-alligator-florida_50504_600x450

## –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogs because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Life, Life Lessons, Love, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WATER WAITING

  1. wisejourney says:

    Hi Dan….I knowI replied but its nit here! Lost in the ethers I think:)

    Here I is again 🙂

    Stillness

    There is a great beauty in stillness Dan. It draws our attention in to the tasks at hand no matter how small or menial or necessary. I am reminded of that as I sit here. I was listening to classic FM. I did have a bowl of granola at my side. The radio is now off. . Breakfast done and I come back to read your poem in all it’s simplicity and stillness and I hear it. I hear you. Have a wonderful week Dan. London is finally a summer city and as the heat wave continues I will be reminded daily to find stillness as I spiral gently back towards my core and peace with each task or space I am in.
    Answers and solutions are not always necessary.

    Andrea

    • dan4kent says:

      Andrea — I am so very grateful. I had just a shiver of a moment when I felt like I heard you too…maybe I relate too much with Avatar, but thank you for letting me see inside. It remains a genuine pleasure.
      Until then,
      Dan

  2. I do not mind you using my picture (Florida Prairie Sunrise) on your site since it is noncommercial, but I would appreciate at least a photo credit or preferably a link back to my site.
    Thanks.

    • dan4kent says:

      Dear Matt — Thanks for your heads-up. To honor your work (which I really dig), I did include what were intended to be appropriate attributions at the conclusion of the essay. Same reasoning that has blog wired to alert other sites to my referral. What you do is worthy. I include you in wanting to pay all due respect to those that fire my imagination. Thank you again. Dan

  3. purplemary54 says:

    Thanks for this little moment of Zen. I could use a little more peace right about now.

    • dan4kent says:

      My pleasure m’lady. Swimming through some deep ‘stuff’ when lo and behold, Water happened. Glad it gave you a moment. Makes my night! Dan

  4. Dan,
    Wow. That is all.

    Blessings,
    Kina

  5. What a beautiful poem and personification of water!

What do you think? Let me know.

