AXE AND RECEIVE

Villagers Celebrating a Wedding Feast Outside a Country Tavern by Matheus Van Helmont_Antwerp 1623_1679 Brussels

In case you hadn’t caught it on CNN, I and the other villagers are spilling out into the streets, excited that warm weather has finally reached Chicagoland.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

To celebrate the coming of an overdue Spring, we spent our day yesterday engaged in our annual ritual of being outside, planting, putting the plans for this years hanging baskets into motion and just generally playing in the dirt with the flowers, plants and herbs. People that know me best will confirm for you that I am happiest when I’m dirty. So this morning, it felt really good to be able to take my focus time outside!

As I greeted the dawn from my comfy seat in the middle of my newly energized ‘summer spot’, I was reminded of something Abraham Lincoln said that I’ve always taken as wise counsel:

abe-lincoln-sharpening-the-axe

As many of you know, blogging can be a demanding mistress – in all sorts of ways. What I hadn’t anticipated when I first hit the “publish” button, was the interest and support you have offered me in response to what I do in this corner of the blogosphere every week. I know it helps me. But to know that sometimes, it’s helped someone else too? You can’t buy that kind of satisfaction. I am truly grateful.

So with Life continuing to improve for me and Mine here, I’ve decided it’s time to sharpen my Soul’s ‘axe’ and step away from the blog to recharge, rejoice and generally be the goof ball that only I can be. And yet, I haven’t succumbed to one axe pun. If anyone asks why not, don’t axe me. I just write here

(OK, I couldn’t resist).

See you with a new post on June 9th, 2013.

UntilThenDan

BlankSpacer_large

SummerLibrary-315x200

Having assembled quite a library over what is now almost two-years into this blog-a-palooza, enjoy the ‘helps’ down the right hand margin of the home page.

I hope you find an essay you enjoy while I’m away. Later Gator.

Dan

 

BlankSpacer_large

FernFive

PASSAGES

130513182519-joyce-brothers-1974-horizontal-gallery

DR. JOYCE BROTHERS

October 20, 1927 – May 13, 2013

(CNN) — Joyce Brothers, who pioneered the television advice show and was called the mother of media psychology, has died, her daughter said Monday. She was 85.

“She passed away peacefully and in her home … with her family all around her,” Lisa Brothers Arbisser said.

Brothers, whose charming, reassuring demeanor appealed to television audiences, became a television star as a game show contestant, a sports interviewer, then as a psychologist answering audience questions about relationships and other emotional subjects.

She grew her fame as a frequent guest on television talk shows and as an advice columnist for Good Housekeeping magazine for four decades and for newspapers throughout the United States.

She also made many cameo appearances parodying herself on television sitcoms and in movies.

She once told a reporter, “I don’t give advice. I just tell people, ‘This is what we know.’ “

But give advice was what she did, and America listened:

“Success is a state of mind. If you want success, start thinking of yourself as a success.”

“The best proof of love is trust.”  “Marriage is not just spiritual communion and passionate embraces; marriage is also three meals a day, sharing the workload and remembering to carry out the trash.”

SOURCES: http://www.cnn.com/2013/05/13/us/joyce-brother-obit/index.html and

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joyce_Brothers

FernFive

 

BlankSpacer_large

RADIO dan4kent

As I recently shared with Purple Mary 54 (MY ELECTRONIC JUKEBOX [http://myelectronicjukebox.wordpress.com]), here’s one my of deepest held musical favs.

So now, for a little Appalachian Spring, CLICK on the album cover; listen with me and watch Nature return as she has done for us since before any of us were born…compliments of Aaron Copeland.

COPLAND Appalachian Spring Album Cover

 

PHOTO CREDITS and ATTRIBUTIONS: Villagers Celebrating a Wedding Feast Outside a Country Tavern by Matheus Van Helmont_Antwerp 1623_1679 Brussels: http://www.christies.com/LotFinder/lot_details.aspx?intObjectID=4700787; hanging-baskets-may: http://www.oakgardensnursery.com/products-services-2/hanging-baskets/; Abe-lincoln-sharpening-the-axe: http://www.happyquotesworld.com/2012/05/sharpen-your-axe-inspirational-story.html ; SummerLibrary-315×200: http://www.westportlibrary.org/teens/get-ready-summer-reading

BlankSpacer

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

BlankSpacer

## –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogs because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to AXE AND RECEIVE

  1. yearstricken says:

    Enjoy the warmth and beauty of spring. I know you’ll come back refreshed.

  2. wisejourney says:

    spring is so slow in arriving this year . . its not that really but I feel I ned to sharpen my creative axe….now to work out how. see you soon Dan

    • dan4kent says:

      From your lips to god’s ear on slow spring. But hear, hear on the axe bit. Make the ‘working out how’ fun. But then again, I’m the goofball. Travel well. See you again soon. Dan

  3. purplemary54 says:

    Spring is a good time to recharge and get inspired. Good luck with sharpening your axe. (Wow, that sounds kinda dirty. *hehehe*) Thanks for the Copeland, too. He’s one of my favorites as well. I hope you check in with the Jukebox once in a while during your hiatus. It’s time for me to get back to work; I need the routine again.

    • dan4kent says:

      Thanks and you’re right (hehehe). Glad to know you are a Copeland fan…should’ve guessed as much. As for stopping by? I have made it part of my routine for leisure reading to always have quarters for the Jukebox (ha!. Be well. Signing off for now. Dan

  4. Dan,
    Enjoy your Spring Break while sharpening your axe.

    Not sure if you watch much network television, but your realization and appreciation that what you do here helps others beyond yourself reminded me of a scene of “Elementary” – a modern interpretation of Sherlock Holmes. Holmes’ character in this setting is a recovering heroine addict approaching his One Year Sobriety birthday and his former sober companion turned investigative protege, Watson (played by Lucy Liu) and his sponsor have been planning his attendance at a meeting and acceptance of his 1 Year Chip. He confesses, finally, that he has zero intention of doing so, because unlike other addicts, he doesn’t see it as a reminder of his successful sobriety, but of his failure by having succumbed to addiction in the first place. Upon hearing this, his sponsor tells him that while it’s a celebration/symbol regarding him and his accomplishments, it isn’t really about him at all. It’s about all those who are still working through their addictions and that seeing him succeed gives them hope to keep going on their own journeys. Sherlock needs to just get over himself, however difficult a task that might be.

    You, my friend, have done exactly that: you’ve gotten over yourself to realize that your life – successes and struggles – are not just about you. Sharing these things shines a bright light of hope, in addition to a myriad of other benefits others receive when they read what you write.

    So, thank you for that. We’ll be here when you return, and as Tom Bodett promised, “We’ll leave the light on for you.”

    Blessings,
    Kina

    • dan4kent says:

      Kina — You blow me away! Thank you for letting me see a bit of your insides. It gives me courage to show mine. And like the wizard said at the awards ceremony, turns out, I had it inside all the time. Just came back in from outside. It’s beautiful. And then? Your note. Really cool. See you in a few weeks. Be well and travel better. From my corner of the blogosphere to yours… Until then, Dan

  5. Enjoy your goofball planting spring days Dan!

What do you think? Let me know.

