WINDOWS AND DOORS

When a door closes, a window opens_dutch-door horse stall

When a door closes, a window opens. We don’t know who originally said it, but as adages go, it must have taken old Rotterdam by storm or it wouldn’t be an old Dutch proverb, would it? Even today, the expressions ‘got legs‘. The minute we hear it or one of its cousins, we know it to be true – or at least we hope it is.

The crux of its metaphysical calculus are several vortices that all seem to exist simultaneously and yet oddly, somehow independent of one another.

Think about it.

Doors open to admit as easily as they close to bar entrance.

Windows let sunlight in so effortlessly we don’t always consider the way they keep winter winds out.

I’ve so enjoyed being able to open our windows this week, letting sunshine and its accompanying breezes in. Not to be left out, the sliding glass door out to the porch does the same thing. Is it a window or a door? You’d think windows and doors would be confused, conflicted and otherwise confounded by their quadrality. They are not.

WindowDoorWindowDoorWindow

Windows and doors all serve well defined purposes. Like people, they come in all sizes, shapes and colors. And yet for all their variety, their purpose is not diminished. Windows and doors are ancient as they are brand new. Like I do when I think about the notes on a musical scale, I marvel at how the same basic components of a window or a door can constantly rearrange into new forms. Yet they do while serving their purpose.

Why do I blog long form versus a funny photo? Why do I get angry over what I do? Why do I benefit from having a weekly deadline for each new post? Why do I smile at the things I do? Do I truly value how deeply the blogging process has come to serve real navigational purpose when it comes to my mental and spiritual health? Can I win my own challenge to write this week’s prose in 600-words or less?

Here’s the thing. If our eyes are the windows to the Soul, where are our doors? I really believe the opening proverb is the key to the second. The doors are in our hearts. We go to great lengths to keep some of them closed and locked tight. Others open so easily it can scare us to find we’re so vulnerable to those around us.

Fotolia_7998602_L_sky-clouds-grass-and-open-door-resized_edited-1-700x250

I’ll just come out and say it, “I want more sunshine this week”. To do it, I’ve committed to claiming some time along the way to close my eyes and listen for a door opening in my heart. My hunch is if I stay still for just a moment longer, I am going to hear its whispered counsel in my Soul’s ear. And who knows, if I’m not careful, some of what I hear may prompt my windows and doors to sneak down my arm and slip out through my fingertips and commit a random act of kindness. And then, my legs and feet, miffed at being left out will probably go and start a revolt of their own, walking me over to someone only I can touch. And here’s the crazy bit…I may not even know them.

But that’s the thing about sunshine. Once it comes in, it warms everybody. Go ahead. Open some windows or doors of your own this week. After all, weren’t grown-ups always telling you to go outside and play? Be dangerous. Take them up on it. Love somebody.

UntilThenDan

BlankSpacer

PS: And this makes 600 words.

Circle Windoor

BlankSpacer_large

FernFive

PASSAGES

Chris-Kelly-of-Kris-Kross-Dead-at-34

CHRIS KELLY

August 11, 1978–May 1, 2013

(MTV News) There’s an unbreakable bond that forms when two lifelong friends cross the crucible of sudden fame together as teenagers. That was the message in an emotional note released by Chris Smith, the other half of 1990s hip-hop duo Kris Kross, the day after his partner Chris Kelly
 was found dead on Wednesday of a suspected drug overdose.

“Chris Kelly was my Best Friend. He was like a brother,” wrote Smith, known as Mac Daddy, in a statement, according to E! Online. “I love him and will miss him dearly. Our friendship began as little boys in first grade. We grew up together. It was a blessing to achieve the success, travel the world and entertain Kris Kross fans all around the world with my best friend. It is what we wanted to do and what brought us happiness. I will always cherish the memories of the C-Connection. KRIS KROSS FOREVER, the ‘MAC DADDY’ and ‘DADDY MAC.'”

The Fulton County Medical Examiner completed an autopsy
 on the body of Kelly, 34, on Thursday that showed no signs of trauma or foul play, but was inconclusive. Though a drug overdose is suspected, an official cause of death will not be determined for several weeks as officials await the results of toxicology tests.

By Gil Kaufman (May 3 2013 8:10 AM EDT ) Source:http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1706748/chris-kelly-kris-kross-death-chris-kelly-reacts.jhtml More Source material at:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kris_Kross

FernFive

 

BlankSpacer_large


And now CLICK for a little more Sunshine…

Ella Fitzgerald with the Tommy Flanagan Trio Montreus Jazz Festival Album Cover

 

Presenting Miss Ella Fitzgerald, live at the Montreux Jazz Festival (1977),

doing her smooth and stylish rendition of Stevie Wonder’s

You are the Sunshine of My Life”.

Joining Ms. Fitzgerald are Tommy Flanagan (piano), Keter Betts (bass) and Bobby Durham (drums).

PHOTO CREDITS and ATTRIBUTIONS: “When a door opens….” (Dutch Proverb): http://www.great-quotes.com/quote/396779; dutch-door-stall-horse-strap-hinges-&-ox-bow with quoted passage added (dan4kent): http://www.brandywinebarnhardware.com/barn_photos.html; Window, Door, Window, Door, Window (compiled dan4kent): source material from A Sunny Window: http://www.trulylocal.ca/a-sunny-window/; front-door-makeover-by David Hillegas: http://www.coastalliving.com/homes/decorating/front-door-makeover-00414000072628/; Sunset_through_the_old_window_by_papadimitriou: http://papadimitriou.deviantart.com/art/Sunset-through-the-old-window-124653646; Illustrated Door: http://pinterest.com/lynnannlynn/opening-windows-and-doorss/; SunnyBeachThroughWindowSource (inset): http://umassche.blogspot.com/2011/04/cool-bumptop-theme-beach-window.html; Fotolia_7998602_L_sky-clouds-grass-and-open-door-resized_edited-1-700×250: http://carolinesunshine.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Fotolia_7998602_L_sky-clouds-grass-and-open-door-resized_edited-1-700×250.jpg; Circle Windoor: http://www.houseofturquoise.com/2009/04/number-6.html; Chris Kelly: http://cdn.straightfromthea.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Chris-Kelly-of-Kris-Kross-Dead-at-34.jpg; Ella Fitzgerald : https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/montreux-77/id206429296 and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montreux_’77_(Ella_Fitzgerald_album); Dutch Door inset photo source: http://www.ehow.com/how_12203847_hang-dutch-split-door.html

BlankSpacer

Dutch Door Inset

BlankSpacer

## –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Life Lessons, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WINDOWS AND DOORS

  1. Pingback: Rachel Luttrell - Live In the Now - Melbourne Yum

  2. KevinRoss says:

    If i have these type windows or doors than really enjoyed some nature but thanks for sharing some experiences with us which is really wonderful. http://gtawindows.on.ca/windows/greenhouse/

  3. wisejourney says:

    the bluey green door come window is just great, along with your words which this week are fewer than most and always worth a read.

    doors and window…love to look at them. often consider what they mean metaphorically and as to sitting still and letting it come to you: whatever it is. It will.

    still
    quiet
    slowness
    listening to nothing but the space around you….. I try and live by them and when I don’t I feel the difference in my BEing

    Have a great week and here is something I hope you will like to read and listen to

    http://67paintings.com/2013/05/12/innocence/

    Andrea

  4. yearstricken says:

    Congratulations on reaching your goal of 600 words. I hope this week is and will be full of sunshine.

    • dan4kent says:

      Thankee. Constraints can be constructive…always tinkering, you know. As to sunshine? So far, so good. Same to you and Yours there. Dan

  5. purplemary54 says:

    Tonight in my neighborhood, it is raining. Just a light shower, but it’s a huge relief from the 90+ degrees it was for a couple days; if you watch the news, you probably saw some land a bit north of me burning. The next couple of days are supposed to be gray and (possibly) rainy. I don’t care. Rain is like sunshine to me. Thanks for this lovely little post about sunshine. It’s important to remember the metaphorical sunshine and air out our souls a little.

What do you think? Let me know.

