ONE CANDLE

 “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a difficult battle.”

 — attributed to Plato

There’s something we like about milestones. As a kid, I remember craning my neck to watch the odometer click over to something with all zeroes behind it. Not the tens or hundreds, but the big numbers. Not long ago, it made me smile to see the Buick creeping up on 200,000 miles. For quite awhile, I watched the magic number grow closer. And then? Life interrupts and childish joys slip away in the maelstrom that surrounds each of us from time to time.

I vowed to myself that I wasn’t going to miss this one. A year ago, this week (August 13), I hit the PUBLISH button on WordPress for the very first time. Granted, I stared at the button for nearly 20-minutes knowing that once I did, there was no turning back. PUSH.

Since that one evening in Chicago, I’ve kept my promise to myself…a new essay every week, for a year. I had so much swirling around my Soul, I thought blogging might be another effective avenue for release…for clarity.

While there is a very real part of me (see definition of Geek) that enjoys the production schedule, photo selection and all the creative choices we’ve all wrestled with in putting out a quality product, it’s the act of actually filling the page that stokes me most.

She is a fickle mistress to be sure, but she is all about the writing. In paraphrasing Whoopi Goldberg (SISTER ACT), if you’re thinking about writing when you get up in the morning and you’re thinking about it when you go to bed, you, are a writer. After this past year, I know one thing. I am a writer. It’s a mysterious relationship. I get an idea and the ink begins bubbling in my heart. As Saturday night approaches, it begins rising up into my brain and before I know it, is gushing out my fingertips. What still blows me away is that even now, what I thought I was going to write about isn’t what ends up on the page. How does that happen? But hey, that’s the magic of it. IT takes over. IT knows what it needs to say and IT is happy I’m the one worried about correct spelling. Never did I anticipate such a wide range of topic material. We’ve covered everything from Love, Life, death, sex, family, religion to mental health and traffic (the last two often being intricately intertwined), but there you are. Sometimes what you find is not what you were looking for, but had you not been looking in the first place, you’d have never found the real treasure. It makes no sense, but it seems to be an inviolate rule of Nature. Who knew?

But wait, there’s more…In doing this for my own mental health, what I hadn’t counted on was you.

You are writers too. You’re cooks, retired assembly line workers, teachers, musicians, photographers and every manner of rascal and malcontent in-between. My kind of people! I wouldn’t have it any other way. Each of you has added to me. Intending to use this as a way to get ‘things’ out of my system, what I got instead was the privilege of getting to gobble up what you’re blogging about. How do I say ‘thank you’ for that?

Birthdays usually mean presents. So with 52-weeks to pick from, I’ve chosen a few gifts for you. For one reason or another, each one means something special to me and that, makes for the best kind of gift I can offer.

I remain so humbly grateful we found each other. Please keep doing what you do. I’m depending on you. Be well.

Have fun unwrapping. Each picture will take you to your gift. God willing, there’ll be plenty more where these came from.

OPEN

WILL YOU LOVE ME?

GULLIVER RISING

BREATHING GLASSES

WHY

AFTER THE BEFORE

SOUND TRACK

My ‘candle’ is so much brighter along side yours.

PS: dan4kent will be undergoing some improvements in the weeks ahead. I think you’re going to like the sound of it. For now, that’s enough. See you on the flip-side.

## –

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogged the past 6-years because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Hope, Inspiration, Life, Life Lessons, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ONE CANDLE

  1. paralaxvu says:

    A candle back, for you. I am so glad I got to know you and your blog. My list of must-reads isn’t very long, but you’re way up top, and it ain’t because your name is close to the beginning of the alphabet, my friend. Keep on writing…please!

  2. purplemary54 says:

    Happy anniversary! And thanks for all the words of wisdom. I’m looking forward to more.

    • dan4kent says:

      Thank you PM54. ‘Words of Wisdom’ scares me a little bit, but I do know how hard I work to be unvarnished. Pulling away the fluff to let the naked core show is still a little daunting. I really appreciate getting your thumbs-up. Good stuff. Dan

  3. marj says:

    I am fortunate to have realized earlier that I am more of a reader than a writer. And I am fine with that because it’s simply my love for the printed word which has seen me through all these years.
    Dan, I can’t thank you enough for the precious gifts you just bestowed upon your readers here. I actually didn’t know where to start after my recent discovery of your blog, but you’ve made it easier for me now. Such lovely and powerful pieces. I ain’t done yet, but I am quite hooked.
    Happy Anniversary!

    • dan4kent says:

      Wow. High praise indeed (no pressure….). Seriously though, you honor me with your choice to spend some of your reading time with me. Means alot. Thank you. Dan

  4. allaccesspass says:

    Happy Anniversary! You describe the feeling so well. I wrote something years ago called “Words That Won’t Flow” and it ended up being one of the best things I’ve ever written. It was at a time when I needed to say something, although I really didn’t know what. It was just that urge/need to write.

    I am not only obsessed with writing, but also with reading what others have written. Checking out my Reader each morning before I get out of bed (like now) and before I fall asleep is part of my routine. I am so grateful to have amazing writers in my life to inspire me. You are one of them! Thank you!

  5. yearstricken says:

    Happy anniversary! It’s quite an accomplishment to stick with the blogging week in and week out. Thanks for all your words of wisdom and wit.

  6. ntexas99 says:

    congrats on hitting that anniversary mark … always nice to see a candle flickering and spreading out the light, to be shared equally, and with abandon

    • dan4kent says:

      NT99 – Thank you. While your candle has helped me (alot), it brings a quiet grin to know we both appreciate the fine art of abandon. May it always be so. Dan

  7. Happy 1st anniversary! Thanks for all you share, I so enjoy your blog. Peace and Love, Diana

What do you think? Let me know.

