OPEN

For being just a simple little four-letter word, it really is, quite remarkable. Just run through some of the list with me: Open up; Open book; Open hand; Open road; Open heart; Open house; Open carton; Open season; Open your presents; Open for debate; Open door policy; Open the window; Open for business; Open to negotiation; Open to interpretation or just Open to the possibilities…see what I mean? Are you as winded as I am?

Let me put this another way…

It was another stifling triple-digit July day here in the upper Midwest..the kind of day my Uncle Lee calls “stupid hot”. Lucky enough to have central air in our place, the windows were all shut and the blinds closed tightly. It actually felt like we were bears, holed up in a cool cave, waiting for the heat to break.

But even then, the apartment wasn’t getting cool enough. The blower was kicking on and off…”That’s not it”. I checked the unit itself…”Circuit breakers are fine”. Nothing really seemed out of whack. “Oh I know, the unit can’t breathe”. Filled with new purpose, I pulled out the vacuum and cleaned the intake vents…even pulled out the air filter and sucked that clean too. And yet? No noticeable improvement. And now, nearly an hour of tinkering had passed and the living room just wasn’t getting cool.

By this time, I was the one getting hot. It didn’t make any sense. Maybe it’s a guy thing, but I’m not without skills and I had done everything I knew to do –still nothing. Everything was working, but nothing was getting any better.

“I give up”. Plopping down in my recliner, I told myself to be grateful the other rooms were plenty cool. “It could be worse…I might not have a home at all, much less any air conditioning at all” Wow, what an enlightened guy was I, right? How large I was to be doing the Cosmos a favor by resigning myself to be grateful….Not. Despite trying to sell myself my own press release, I was still stewing…

Let’s review the scoreboard for just a moment. MECHANICAL SYSTEMS 5; HUMANS 0.

About then, I looked up from the chair, locking eyes with the vents in the living room wall. You guessed it. They were still closed from when we had painted last winter. Flush with victory and with one deft move, I moved each lever and WA-lah! Coolness instantly began slapping past my face like an arctic blow dryer!

Like a lot of things in my life, I have worked hard to do the best I could, with what I had, where I was at (I learned that one from the late Coach John Wooden – RIP). Over the years, I have learned to tell the truth…especially to myself. I’ve spent a lot of time and effort unblocking my insides. And I’ve always been one to pay attention to spiritual things. I am always gut-checking to make sure my intentions are positive and my motives honest…whew, it’s a lot of work.

But for all of that, I still learn (every day) to simply be open. What a quietly simple little ‘click’ of an idea. Everything I’m working for, and for everyone I love, it really all boils down to simply being open. Open to the journey…open to the pain and open to the joy. And another thing about ‘open’. It isn’t an action (so much) as it is a simple state of “be-ing”

Thanks for taking a minute to participate in my first blog post. There will be plenty more, but for now, I hope there’s some Truth you can use from what I’ve learned. Try it. Once you find it, you might just be surprised at just how easy it is to switch yourself on.

So I guess it’s official, both of us, are now OPEN.

Until then,
Dan

About dan4kent

Born and raised in the Midwest, Dan lives in the Chicagoland area. With a grown son from a previous marriage, he has since built a committed relationship of 32 years with his partner Rick, the Love of his Life. Having written his whole life, he blogs because he has to write…he can’t help it. Know the feeling? There’s ‘good‘ to be found in all of it. “If all I do is leave someone (or something) better than I found them, then I’ve done my part. Thanks for letting me grace your screen, if only for a little while.”
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OPEN

  1. Pingback: RING DEEP | dan4kent

  2. Pingback: NO | dan4kent

  3. John Vassar says:

    Glad the blog is open, and what a great opening. The thing is, I happen to know for sure that there’s more to be enjoyed, inspired and challenged. Have to admit some aversion to the word “blog”, ever since it was coined or invented, but it’s probably here to stay longer than I am, and it’s a household word (I’m not). Never liked the “word” Bluetooth either. But if “blog” it is, then thank you, world, for giving Dan a place to broadcast quality missives for the soul.

What do you think? Let me know.

